Key Takeaways
- Drive.com.au has published images it says show a Tesla charging site under development in Australia; Tesla has not confirmed the images or the site's claimed status as its largest in the country.
- The outlet asserts the site would become Tesla's largest Australian charging location, but no official Tesla document, planning permit, or company statement has been cited to verify that scale.
- No specific address, stall count, power output, or opening date has been disclosed in the reporting, leaving the site's operational timeline unknown.
- Until Tesla or a local permitting body lists the site, owners should treat the report as unconfirmed and continue using Tesla's official navigation for trip planning.
Background
Tesla operates Supercharger stations across major Australian routes, with locations ranging from small urban car parks with a handful of stalls to larger highway-adjacent installations serving long-distance travel. The company has steadily expanded the network as local EV adoption grows, often adding sites in regional corridors where public charging density remains low. In many Australian municipalities, development applications for EV charging infrastructure are publicly searchable, sometimes revealing details before Tesla's own map updates. Larger 'hub' sites with many stalls are becoming more common globally, designed to reduce wait times during school holiday peaks and seasonal travel. Our Tesla Supercharger station guide explains how to locate and initiate charging at these locations, including payment methods, idle fees, and compatible vehicle requirements.
Battery longevity remains a separate consideration for owners who frequently use high-power DC charging. Independent testing and manufacturer data suggest that modern Tesla battery thermal management limits degradation even with regular Supercharging, as summarized in our fast charging battery longevity study. Australian climatic conditions, especially in inland areas, place additional thermal load on both vehicle packs and charging hardware, making active cooling more important. For owners of older Model S and Model X packs, the same study notes that charge rate tapering and battery preconditioning can have a greater effect on long-term health than the total number of fast-charging sessions. None of these factors can be evaluated for a station that has not been officially confirmed or opened, because its hardware version, power level, and thermal management environment are unknown.
The Latest Development
Automotive press reportDrive.com.au has published what it describes as leaked images of a Tesla charging site under development in Australia, appearing on its website without a stated publication date in the material provided for this article. The outlet reports that the site is intended to become Tesla's largest charging location in the country, a claim it bases on the scale visible in the imagery and on unnamed sources familiar with the project. The article does not include any statement from Tesla, any local council, or any state planning authority confirming the location, stall count, or opening timeline. Drive did not disclose the source of the images, describing them only as leaked, and no second Australian outlet has independently published the same visuals or details in the provided source material. Tesla's official charging map and company communications do not show this site as of the time of writing.
The images, as presented by Drive, show a large installation with multiple charging stalls arranged in a grid, along with cable conduits and electrical switchgear consistent with contemporary Tesla Supercharger construction. The report does not contain a street address, a specific stall count, a charging power specification, or an expected opening date, all of which would normally appear in a development application or Tesla's own announcement. The 'biggest-ever' label therefore rests on editorial interpretation of the images rather than on a verified metric such as number of stalls or megawatts of grid connection. No permit or official filing has been cited in the article, and no Tesla executive or energy team member has commented on the project. Until such documentation emerges, the size ranking should be treated as a third-party claim rather than an established fact.
Tesla has a pattern of listing new Supercharger stations on its website and in-vehicle navigation only after all agreements, permits, and construction milestones are complete, which means many under-development sites never appear publicly before opening. The absence of any official acknowledgment could indicate that the project is in an early stage, that the images are outdated or misattributed, or that the site has been altered since the images were taken. Drive's coverage does not state whether the images were recently captured or whether construction is ongoing. For now, the only directly verifiable fact from the available material is that Drive published a report accompanied by images it attributes to a leak. Readers should weigh the outlet's reputation for automotive reporting against the lack of corroborating evidence.
Owner / Hands-on Perspective
For Tesla owners in Australia, the practical step is to continue using the in-car navigation's charging planner or the Tesla mobile app to locate active Superchargers and plan routes. The reported site is not yet in the official database, so routing to it based on the leaked images would be premature and could leave you at an unpowered construction site. Owners can check whether a station is active by opening the in-car map, tapping the charging icon, and looking for the station name; if it does not appear, the system will not include it in trip routing or battery preconditioning. A second check is to open the Tesla app's location search, which lists only official, operational Superchargers and destination chargers. Any third-party map entry or shared social media pin should be ignored until Tesla confirms the location.
A longer-term actionable step is to monitor local planning portals if you live near the reportedly leaked site or travel there regularly. In many Australian councils and state planning systems, development applications for EV charging infrastructure are public documents searchable by address, applicant name, or development type. That can provide earlier official confirmation than Tesla's own map update, but it is not a substitute for Tesla's operational listing when planning a trip. Owners who want to be notified of new Superchargers can also enable notifications in the Tesla app if available, though Tesla does not guarantee advance notice for every site. Until an official source confirms the site, treat the leaked images and any associated social media discussion as unverified third-party information.
What It Means
Confirmed
The only fact that can be corroborated from the provided summary is that Drive.com.au has published images of what it says is a Tesla charging site under development in Australia. No second independent outlet has yet published the same images or independently verified the location, size, or development status in the provided source material. Tesla has not issued a statement confirming the site.
Speculation
The claim that this location would become Tesla's largest Australian charging site is not confirmed. No Tesla official, local council, or permitting body has verified the site's address, stall count, power output, or opening date. The images themselves have not been authenticated, and Drive has not disclosed whether they originated from a construction worker, a planning application, or another source. The 'biggest-ever' label is an inference drawn by the outlet from the images and unnamed sourcing, not an established fact.
FAQ
QIs Tesla building its biggest-ever charging site in Australia?
Tesla has not confirmed this. Drive.com.au has published images it says show a large charging site under development, but the outlet's 'biggest-ever' claim has not been verified by Tesla or a permitting authority.
QWhere is the new Tesla charging site located?
The exact location has not been disclosed in the published report, and Tesla has not listed the site on its official charging map.
QHas Tesla officially announced this Australian charging site?
No. There has been no statement from Tesla or any official filing confirming the site's existence, size, or opening date.
QWhat do the leaked images show?
Drive.com.au reports the images show a large Tesla charging installation under development, but the images have not been independently authenticated.
QWhen will this charging site open?
No opening date has been confirmed. Since the site is not yet officially listed, any timeline would be speculation.
QShould Tesla owners plan trips around this site?
No. Owners should rely on Tesla's official navigation and charging map, as the reported site is not yet available for use and may not be included in trip planning.
Information compiled from official statements and independent reporting, published October 21, 2026. Confirmed facts and unconfirmed/speculative points are separated above.